The curse of the crafter?

I love love love to make things!

The particular craft changes now and again, cake making was my thing for quite a while, more recently though I have become passionate about sewing!  I love sewing all sorts of things. Especially dresses. I am lucky enough to have a good sewing machine and two girls who are happy to exploit my growing skills!

I only have one problem.

I find it difficult to see something through to the finish before I get distracted by another project. Much like tattoos. I had one started ooooh, 10 years ago. Never had it finished because something new just calls to me each time I go!

I have a kind of ‘work in progress’ basket (not for tattoos obviously!) One item in the basket has been in there for over a year – oh the shame! There are missing zips and unfinished hems, it really is bursting at the seams.

you know you wanted to see it!

And so my question is this………
Is this the curse of the crafter?? Is the price to pay for a creative mind to also have a chaotic one? One so easily distracted by the shiny and new?
I know it drives my husband crazy. I know it drives me crazy! Anybody else??

I am pleased to say I’m on the verge of surprising myself. Less than a fortnight ago I spontaneously set myself the task of making both munchkins (ages 9 + 4) a new dress for a family christening this Sunday (don’t think I don’t know how to get a little crazy every now and then!)
So far, so on target!

I have 2 dresses. Both have zips! Just a few more adjustments and some hemming and I’ll be there.

Could the key simply be setting a deadline? I’ve never been able to stick to them before. Maybe now I’m a grown up it works?

I’ve spent some time recently considering things I would like to have done by the end of this year. Maybe I can give myself some weekly goals too.

My goals for the end of the year look something like this:
• Make at least one thing a week.
• Blog at least once a week.
• Make a family quilt.
• Make a shirt-dress for moi!

Perhaps the goal for next week can be:
• Finish one piece from the ‘work in progress’ basket.

I’ll let you know how I get on!

Until next time…..
Vicki x

Leave a Reply

